Mockingjay (The Hunger Games, #3)Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I loved the first two books. The world building was amazing. A post-apocalyptic America called Panem, 2 tributes one boy, one girl,(children aged 12-17)from 12 districts sent to kill each other until only one, the victor, is left for the entertainment of the Capital. The Capital rules over the districts.

It’s dark, it’s gory, it tells the tale of 17 year old Katniss Everdeen. This particular book, the last of the series, fell flat.

The ending left me wanting to know more. What happened to Katniss? What did she do, other than bear two children to Peeta. What did he do?

I didn’t understand why her sister had to die. It wasn’t necessary, and it was the reason Katniss ended up in the hunger games in the first place, to protect her sister.

The epilogue just didn’t do the book justice, it felt hurried, like the author was in a rush and ran out of time, or maybe pages.

It makes me sad to be so invested in a series and have it end without really explaining so much.

View all my reviews

One thought on “<a href=”ht…

  1. I haven’t been able to force myself to read this series. Molly absolutely loved it and has recommended it to me multiple times, but I just can’t do it. No matter how good it is, the idea of children forced to kill each other is just too much for me.

Leave a Reply

